‘Dr Dilli Raman Regmi Peace Prize’ to Joshi and UNESCO

Source: http://nepalireporter.com/dr-dilli-raman-regmi-peace-prize/#.Wz4vIzzpfZ4

July 3, 2018

KATHMANDU, July 3: Dr Dilli Raman Regmi Foundation has honored historian and culture expert Hare Ram Joshi with the “Dr Dilli Raman Regmi National Peace Award” while UNESCO has received the “Dr Dilli Raman Regmi International Peace Award-2074 BS”.

Both awards were conferred on the recipients amidst a ceremony on Tuesday. The National Peace Award carries a purse of Rs 100,000 and a letter of felicitation while the UNESCO was presented an idol of Gautam Buddha and a letter of appreciation.

Christian Manhart, UNESCO Representative to Nepal, was there to receive the award presented to the UNESCO in recognition of its significant contribution to building peace, reducing poverty and fostering sustainable development in Nepal.He received the award on behalf of the UNESCO Director-General.

Giriraj Mani Pokhrel, Minister for Education, Science and Technology, gave away the awards to the recipients amidst a ceremony here today. On the occasion, the Minister said that study and research in each sector were essential for the progress of any nation. According to him, the government has brought a 10-point road map aimed at promoting reading culture among students and people.

Admitting that human and technical errors were seen in the recent SEE results system, he stressed the need of acting seriously in the days ahead so as not to let such situation reoccur. The education minister went on to say that the government was trying to find a solution to the medical education issues by protecting main spirit of the Mathema Commission’s report.

Joshi and Manhart remembered Dr Regmi as an ardent follower of Gautam Buddha and Mahatma Gandhi and one of the pioneers of the democratic movement in Nepal. Joshi added that the society would always remember him for his contribution to good causes of the society.

The annual award established by the Government of Nepal in memory of Dr Regmi (1913–2001) is presented to individuals or institutions who have contributed to the cause of peace and the betterment of Nepal and its people, the Foundation said. RSS